Day 2 (writing a journal) – New Year’s Eve eve

I crawled out of bed long after my second, yet pre 6am alarm. I had long lost the momentum I built through last week in wanting to have anything to do with swimming. Yesterday I skipped despite having paid and pre-registered. Last night I promised myself and made a rule that I must go today. I must do two swim sessions this week.

I looked at the clock driving west towards the pool and it read 5:59am. One minute left to get in and get started. Certainly left no time for dreadful thought.

Ugh it was cold, walking backwards down the granny steps into the pool. I don’t think I’ve got the core or balance yet to bend down and hop into the water gracefully. And to think, I’ll be finished my second Ironman in 8 months from today. I’ll probably have spent way too much money on finisher swag and be elated to have completed a second Ironman. I truly believe this one is much more difficult and racing in Penticton will be, dare I predict, cathartic.

A second Ironman! I have dreamt of doing this again. Somehow, I allowed that first one to be minimized. I recall a coach, thankfully not mine, congratulate me for knocking something off my bucket list. I heard the implication how that Ironman was just a one and done thing and I hadn’t demonstrated any of the commitment, tenacity and consistency of a true triathlete.

I still struggle mightily with consistency. Anybody that knows me would agree. They would also agree that I do not lack commitment or tenacity, and when I say I will rip every shred of experience from this race and this training, they know not to doubt me.

I’m back in the pool tomorrow…

Leave a comment