Day 10 – writing a journal

I feel well right now but had an off day yesterday with my mood. It’s my 9th anniversary today and for some reason was interpreting AJ’s illness as relationship based sadness. When I came home last night, I felt deflated but AJ was feeling good and had really great energy about her. We ate supper (dinner as Emily loves to argue with me) and then set to making lanterns for winter solstice. It was a lot of fun working together as a family and we worked for a long time before deciding to do more today. Well they are while I’m at work.

After lantern making, we took some time to watch Star Wars; the Sith rises or whatever. It’s a total drag and utterly devastating and sad. I think I’ve only seen it once before. We still haven’t finished it.

Anyway, so those Star Wars related feelings are dank, heavy and putrid. Good to let them go.

I awoke today on my first alarm after a four minute lag period. It snowed enough to make things all crusty this morning but it was cool, beautiful and quiet. After scraping the ice of the car, I made the 5 minute drive to the pool and was the first one in. Pretty quiet overall as only 4 of us swimming laps today. My time was down from yesterday but attributable to swimming yesterday plus not feeling the same sense of urgency with a lane all to myself.

I weighed myself before I set off to the pool of course and saw a slight gain of 0.8lbs (348.2) which I’m feeling discouraged by. I knew the day would come that I would gain weight when I thought I ate well the day before. Now the gain could be due to many factors and I remind myself that I feel good and well. I am on track to accomplishing my goal and am on schedule to complete my swim session goal for this week having done two of four sessions already. I am on track and it’s one day at a time.

I’ve been playing with the idea of losing 10 pounds per month up to August 29th. That would be a racing weight of 260lbs which is near what I was racing at in 2014. I’ve lost 10 pounds already in December and am building upon that for January. I am on track. One thing I may need to be mindful of though is spacing out my daily calories as it’s mostly been in three meals. I need to eat 5 times a day with some good snack options. I like the premiere protein shakes. They are tasty, satiating and pack a good protein punch. Tracking my food each day, I am hitting my protein macro targets which is something I’ve never done in the past.

I am on track and that’s the lesson today. Tonight, AJ and I are going for an evening snowshoe up Mount Seymour. It’ll be a beautiful starry night and I can’t wait to share that with her. She gave me a beautiful painting today with a lovely quote about the optimism and opportunity of fishing. I love it! I’m going to get her an archery target. LOL!

Leave a comment